Georgia Geography


Abbreviated as GA by ABBREVIATIONFINDER, the state of Georgia has its share of extreme weather. Its great extension presents high mountains, undulating plains and a coastline that opens up to a sea of ​​meteorological possibilities. Georgia has been the victim of massive hurricanes in the past, but these usually die before hitting the state’s coastline. Yet massive tornadoes ravage Georgia.


The hottest temperature on record in Georgia was 112 degrees Fahrenheit (44 ° C), which was documented on July 24, 1953 in Louisville; while the lowest temperature was -17 degrees Fahrenheit (-27 ° C) on January 27, 1940 at CCC Camp. The average temperature ranges from 92.2 degrees Fahrenheit (33 ° C) to a low of 32.6 degrees Fahrenheit (0 ° C). The summers are hot, and winters are relatively mild. In summer, the temperature often reaches over 90 degrees Fahrenheit (32 ° C).


Average annual rainfall ranges from about 40 inches (101 cm) in central Georgia to over 75 inches (190 cm) on the north coast. In February and March a high amount of rain is recorded when it is between 4 and 6 inches (11 and 15 cm) of an average year. The high rate of cyclonic activity in the southeastern United States causes the high amount of rainfall in Georgia and the surrounding states. The storms are active in the months of June and July, contributing 4 to 7 inches (11 to 17 cm) of rain in each of those months.


The tornadoes are common in Georgia and often accompanied by strong winds and large hail. Some of the tornadoes in Georgia can travel many miles. The 26 of maypoleof 1917, the biggest tornado in Georgia’s history was traced 293 miles (471 km). More recently, 15 people were confirmed dead on April 28, 2011, after a tornado struck northwestern Georgia. Another 194 people died in Alabama from the same tornado.


Georgia consists of coastal plains in the southeast and mountains that line the north and northeast known as the Blue Ridge and Appalachian Ridge regions. The tallest mountains reach 15,000 feet (4,500 m) high. The state has the largest landmass east of the Mississippi River. Georgia is divided into regions consisting of six types of land: Appalachian Plateau, Ridge and Appalachian Valley, Piedmont, coastal plain of the Atlantic and the coastal plain east of the Gulf.


Georgia is currently the main communications center for the Southern Region of the United States. The main paved highways in the state were inaugurated in the early 20th century, and the vast majority of the smaller state highways were paved in the decades following World War II. Atlanta is the main highway hub in Georgia. The state in 2003, had 187,543 kilometers of public roads, of which 2,004 kilometers were interstate highways, considered part of the federal highway system of the United States.

The state has an extensive railway network. Atlanta, in addition to being the main rail hub of the state, is also the main rail hub of the Southern region of the United States. In 2002, Georgia had 7,530 kilometers of railroad tracks.

  • CountryAAH: Offers a full list of cities and towns in Georgia, together with postal codes for each of them, and including capital city of Georgia.


The current Constitution of Georgia was adopted in 1982. Older constitutions were adopted in 1777, 1789, 1799, 1861, 1865, 1868, 1877, 1945, 1976. In all, ten constitutions were created, more than any other American state. Amendments to the constitution are proposed by the Legislative Branch of Georgia, and to be approved, they need the approval of at least 51% of the Senate and the State House of Representatives, in two successive votes, and later by 51% or more of the electoral population of Georgia, in a referendum. Amendments can also be proposed and introduced by constitutional conventions, which need to receive the approval of at least 67% of the votes of both houses of the Legislative Power and 51% of the state’s electors in a referendum.

The Legislative Branch of Georgia is made up of the Senate and the House of Representatives. The Senate has a total of 56 members, while the House of Representatives has a total of 180 members. Georgia is divided into 56 senatorial districts and 180 representative districts. The voters of each district elect a senator / representative, who will represent that district in the Senate / House of Representatives. The term of the mandate of the senators and the representatives is two years. There is no limit to the number of mandates that a given person can serve.

Georgia is divided into 159 counties — more than any other US state except Texas. The vast majority of these counties (149) are governed by councils of commissioners, composed of between three and eleven members. The other ten are managed by a single commissioner. All commissioners are chosen by the population of the respective counties, for terms of two, four, or six years in length – in most Georgia counties, the term of the commissioners’ term is four years. These commissioners have legislative and executive authority over the county.

Georgia state


  • Christianity
  • Protestantism
  • Baptist Churches
  • Methodism
  • Presbyterianism
  • Pentecostalism
  • Catholic Church
  • Judaism
  • Not religious

State symbols

  • Amphibian: green frog (Hyla cinerea)
  • Tree: oak (Quercus virginiana)
  • Butterfly: Papilio glaucus
  • Drink: Coca-Cola
  • Nicknames:
    • Empire state of the south
    • Peach State
  • Flower: rose (Rosa laevigata)
  • Fossil: shark tooth
  • Fruit: peach (Prunus persica)
  • Insect: bee
  • Motto: Wisdom, justice, and moderation (wisdom, justice and moderation)
  • Mammal: right whale (Eubalaena)
  • Mineral: staurolite
  • Music: Georgia on my Mind.
  • Bird: reddish cuitlacoche (Toxostoma rufum)
  • Fish: black sea bass (Micropterus salmoides)
  • Reptile: Gopherus polyphemus
  • Rock: quartz
  • Slogan: Georgia on My Mind