Montana Politics and History

Abbreviated as MT, Montana is a state in the northwestern United States. In the western and central thirds of the state there are several mountain areas, which form part of the Rocky Mountains, of which 77 are named. It is these mountains that gave Montana its name (from Spanish : montaña, “mountain”). Montana is the fourth largest state in the United States in terms of area, but at the same time has the third lowest population density. The state’s economy is mainly based on agriculture, forestry and the mining industry. Glacier National Park, the site of the Battle of the Little Big Horn, and three of the five entrances to Yellowstone National Parkmakes tourism a big part of the state’s economy.

Montana is part of the Great Plains and Pacific Northwest regions and is often referred to as the “Treasure State”, “Land of Shining Mountains”, “Big Sky Country” or sometimes “last best place”.

The capital is Helena, but the largest city is Billings.

State and politics

Voters’ right to popular initiative and referendum is guaranteed by Montana’s constitution.

The legislative power exerted by a Senate and House of Representatives forming a legislature ( legislature ). The Legislative Assembly meets regularly every odd year. According to the constitution, the meeting time is limited to 90 days. The Senate consists of 50 members elected for a four-year term. The House of Representatives consists of 100 members elected for a two-year term. The executive consists of a governor, a deputy governor, the Secretary of State, the Attorney General, the Superintendent of Public Instruction and the State Auditor, all of whom are elected by universal suffrage for a term of four years. The judicial power exerted by state Supreme Court, district courts, peace courts and other courts. The members of the Supreme Court, the district judges and the peace judges are elected by universal suffrage.

Administrative division

Administratively, Montana is divided into 56 counties. According to the Montana Constitution, each county can organize its political and administrative organization as it wishes, but the constitution also contains a normal organization for a county. This normal organization includes the following office-holders appointed by general election: three county commissioners, clerk and recorder, clerk of district court, county attorney, sheriff, treasurer), Surveyors ( surveyor), skoldirektör ( Superintendent of Schools ), tax director (assessor), coroner ( coroner), and administrative manager (public administrator). The largest was Yellowstone County, which in 2007 had an estimated population of 139,936 inhabitants. The smallest was Petroleum County with 438 inhabitants.

Larger cities

The ten largest cities in Monatana (2007):

  • Billings – 101 876
  • Missoula – 67 165
  • Great Falls – 58 827
  • Bozeman – 37 981
  • Butte – 32,652
  • Helena – 28 726
  • Kalispell – 20 298
  • Oats – 9,618
  • Anaconda – 8,852
  • Miles City – 8 120

Etymology of the name

The central-western third is crossed by mountains (approximately 77 named) of the mountain chain of the Rockies; this is how its name is explained, derived from the Spanish word “mountain”. The nickname of the state is the “Treasury State”. Other nicknames are “Land of shining mountains”, “Country of the Great Sky” and the motto “The last best place”. In the ranking of states it appears fourth in terms of area, but only 44th in population, and, therefore, it has the third lowest density in the United States.


Native Americans were the first of the many residents of the state of Montana. There were many groups, including the Crow, in the south-central area; the Cheyennes, in the southeast; the black feet, assiniboine and atsina in the center and north; and the Kootenai and Salish in the west. The small tribes of the Pend Oreille and Kalispel settled around Lake Flathead and the western mountains respectively.

Eastern Montana was part of the Louisiana Purchase in 1803. This was followed by the Lewis and Clark expedition and the discovery of gold in the state in the 1850s. Montana became the territory of Montana on as maypole 26 as 1864 and the 41st state on 8 November as as 1889.

Fort Shaw (Montana Territory) was established in the spring of 1867. It is located west of Great Falls in the Sun River Valley, and was one of three positions authorized by Congress in 1865. The other two positions in the territory Montana were Camp Cooke and Fort CF Smith, on the Bozeman Trail in south-central Montana. Fort Shaw, later renamed Colonel Robert Gould Shaw, who led the 54th Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry Regiment, one of the first African-American armies during the Civil War, was built of wood and adobe by the 13th Infantry. The fort had a parade ground that occupied 120 m², and consisted of a hospital, a market and could house up to 450 soldiers. Completed in 1868, it was used by the military until 1891.

Montana was the scene where the American Indians made their last effort to maintain their land, they fought against the United States Army, under the command of George Armstrong Custer and resulted in an indigenous victory.

The state was the first to elect a woman to Congress, Jeannette Rankin.

Montana state