National Technological University (Argentina)

National Technological University. Educational institution of Argentina. It was created in 1959 with the aim of creating, preserving and transmitting technique and universal culture in the field of technology. It has regional colleges in several major cities, making it the only federal university in the nation.


The National Technological University (UTN) was created on October 14, 1959 by means of Law 14,855, integrating since then, the national university system. With the specific function of creating, preserving and transmitting technique and universal culture in the field of technology, being the only National University in the country whose academic structure has engineering as its central objective.

Institutional development

The institution had been operating since 1953 with the academic structure of a University, already existing at that time the Regional Faculties of Buenos Aires, Córdoba, Mendoza, Rosario and Santa Fe, to which were added – in 1954 – the Regional Faculties of Bahía Blanca, La Plata, Tucumán and then Avellaneda. This activity was possible from 1952, since Decree 3014/52 had approved its Regulations for organization and operation as a University.

After its creation, the organizational and academic characteristics continued to attract an increasing number of students, which led to the creation of new Regional Faculties.

On August 31, 1962, the University Assembly approved the First Statute of UTN, which at the time had eleven (11) Regional Faculties. At the beginning of 1984, Argentina definitely returned to the path of institutional democracy. In the month of June of that year, the National Congress approved Law 23,068, aimed at normalizing the National Universities, seriously affected by the measures taken in all fields by the former de facto government.

The aforementioned law made it possible to start the work aimed at returning to the UTN all the creative force it needed to resume its role in the reconstruction of university education.

In December 1986, UTN again elects its own authorities through the University Assembly, resulting in Ing. Juan Carlos Recalcatti being elected Rector, who was re-elected in 1989.

In 1993 the National Technological University renews its authorities and the University Assembly convened for this purpose in December of the same year elects Ing. Hector Carlos Brotto as Rector.


It currently has:

  • 29 Regional Faculties,
  • A Higher Institute
  • A Study Center, distributed in all the regions of the Argentine Republic.

Since its creation – Law 14,855 of the year 1959 – more than 30,000 professionals have graduated from their engineering careers.

Research, development and postgraduate

The Secretariat of Science and Technology is the body that understands everything inherent to the execution of the Science and Technology Policy of the National Technological University – CSU Resolution No. 232/98, Document No. 7: Criteria that guide the Science and Technology Policy. NTU Technology

This Scientific-Technological System is made up of the 29 Regional Faculties, the National Higher Institute of Technical Teachers and the Mar del Plata Academic Unit, as well as the R&D Centers, Groups and Projects of the University.

The National Technological University gives priority to applied research and technological development and innovation that is required by the National State, the Provinces and Municipalities and the sector that produces goods and services, allowing it to satisfy the inherent concept of engineering of using economically the materials and forces of nature for the benefit of humanity.

To this end, priority is given to projects that – based on excellence and backed by the requirements of the production system – can be transferred to the environment. This encourages R&D teams that are mainly oriented towards engineering, technologies related to the production of goods and services, quality, standardization, the rational use of resources, the preservation of the environment and technical-economic studies. whose objective is the orientation of regional or national development policies.


Postgraduate training is strategic for the development of the UTN since it has a high significance and impact at the institutional and academic levels, in the training and promotion of teachers and researchers of the highest level, and the strengthening of research activities and growth.

Faculties and research centers

  • Mechanical Engineer
  • Chemical Engineer
  • Computer Engineer
  • Industrial
  • Electrical Engineer
  • civil engineer
  • Architecture

Research centers

  • CREA, Reference Center for Advanced Education
  • CECAT, Center for Construction and Tropical Architecture
  • CEIM, Center for Innovation and Maintenance Studies
  • CETDIR, Center for the Study of Management Techniques
  • CETER, Center for the Study of Renewable Energy Technologies
  • CIH, Hydraulic Research Center
  • CIME, Microelectronics Research Center
  • CIPEL, Electro-Energy Testing and Research Center
  • CIPRO, Center for Process Engineering Studies

National Technological University (Argentina)